10th February 2020

Banbridge Academy retain the U15 Ulster Schools’ Table Tennis Title

The Ulster Schools’ Table Tennis finals took place on Wednesday 5 February 2020 in Lisburn Racquets Centre.

Banbridge Academy’s U15 Girls’ Team, the current Ulster Schools’ Champions, set out to retain their title, having previously held the U15 Ulster and Irish Titles and the girls did not disappoint. They successfully defeated Strathearn School (2nd) and Monaghan Collegiate (3rd) to become Gold Medal winners on the day and will represent Ulster at the All-Ireland Final on 30 April 2020 to defend their Irish Title.

U15 GIRLS’ TEAM MEMBERS Ruby Bushby, Melissa Neville, Aleyah Peniero, Mr Arnold Morgan (Chairman, Table Tennis Ulster), Jodie Simmons, Lara Crothers, Abbie Wylie

The U13 Girls’ team faced a tough fight with current champions Royal School Dungannon in the group. The girls started well by defeating Grosvenor Grammar School 5/0 and Strathearn 5/3, but lost out against Sullivan Upper 3/5 and eventual winners Royal School Dungannon 5/4 after a hard fought contest. Royal School Dungannon retained the Ulster Title with Banbridge Academy finishing in 3rd place with a Bronze Medal.

U13 GIRLS TEAM MEMBERS Back Row: Kerry Crothers, Lilia McKinney, Molly Davidson, Kristen Ginniff, Front Row: Joanna Kane, Anna Russell, Katherine McConnell

The U13 Boys’ team competed in the largest group with 13 schools taking part. The boys were a player down, but played exceptionally well, winning all matches in their group 5/0 against Grosvenor C and Friends’ topping their group. However, having qualified for the Semi-finals, the team suffered by having just 5 players, forfeiting 2 matches and losing 5/3 to Belfast High A Team. The team faced Friends’ Lisburn in the 3rd/4th play-off and lost 5/3, just missing out on a medal, finishing in 4th. Nevertheless, a great fighting spirit was on display by everyone and there are certainly some players to watch out for in the forthcoming individual competitions.

U13 TEAM MEMBERS Josh Peniero, Adam Molek, Matthew Craig, Fynn Niblock, Andrew Beattie (no photograph available)